index - NET-COOP 2010 - 4th Workshop on Network Control and Optimization Access content directly

4th Workshop on Network Control and Optimization

Sponsored by Euro-NF Network of Excellence and the faculty of Engineering of Ghent University. Technically sponsored by IEEE Control Systems Society.


Internet communications and services are increasingly heterogeneous in terms of both applications usage and networking environments. On one hand, diversity in applications ranges from rocketing bandwidth requirements for high-definition on-demand video to prototypical low-bandwidth telephony and texting services. On the other hand, these services are delivered over a plethora of different transmission media, each having specific bandwidth characteristics and possibly operated by different parties. This increase in heterogeneity of networks fuels an increase in the complexity of their control and optimization. The need for new ways of effectively and fairly allocating resources belonging to a wide set of not necessarily cooperative networks to a collection of possibly competing users is urgent.

Netcoop '10 targets research on performance analysis, control and optimization of telecommunication networks, including wired networks, wireless networks, computational grids, sensor networks, P2P networks and delay tolerant networks. Submission of papers using methodology from queueing and congestion theory, control theory, game theory, scheduling theory and simulation are especially encouraged.

The conference will feature a best paper and best student paper award.

Invited speakers


This workshop solicits papers on (but not limited to) the areas below.

Important dates

Full paper submission30 August 2010 12 September 2010
Acceptance notification25 September 2010 18 October 2010
Final paper and registration25 October 2010 31 October 2010
Conference29 November - 1 December 2010


General chairDieter Fiems (Ghent University)
General co-chairsTijani Chahed (Telecom SudParis), Catherine Rosenberg (University of Waterloo)
Program chairRavi Mazumdar (University of Waterloo)
Program co-chairsNahum Shimkin (Technion), Joris Walraevens (Ghent University)
Program committee Ivo Adan, Konstantin Avrachenkov, Tamer Başar, Augustin Chaintreau, Rachid El-Azouzi, Atilla Eryilmaz, Hisao Kameda, Peter Key, Richard La, Lasse Leskela, Michel Mandjes, D. Manjunath, José Niño-Mora, Krzysztof Pawlikowski, Balakrishna J. Prabhu, Yutaka Takahashi, Hwee-Pink Tan, Peter Taylor, Bruno Tuffin, Rob Van der Mei, Johan van Leeuwaarden, Sabine Wittevrongel
Steering committeeEitan Altman (INRIA), Tijani Chahed (Telecom SudParis), Sergey Foss (Heriot Watt University), Peter Glynn (Stanford University), Mikael Johansson (KTH), Daniel Kofman (GET), Laurent Massoulié (Thomson), Alexandre Proutière (Microsoft Research), Jorma Virtamo (Helsinki University of Technology)

Réalisation Service IST INRIA Sophia Antipolis Méditerranée / Laboratoire I3S